Log in

Design Therapeutics files $300,000,000 shelf with $100,000,000 ATM sales agreement

Tickers DSGN

Jefferies LLC is the sales agent under an Open Market Sale Agreement for the $100,000,000 at-the-market portion. The May 7, 2025 filing gives a last reported sale price of $4.36 on May 5, 2025 and does not state a cash balance.

Key facts

Company
Design Therapeutics, Inc. (NASDAQ: DSGN)
News type
Financings
Primary source
Design Therapeutics, Inc. S-3 (2025-05-07)
A trading board being updated by hand. Photo: Carol M Highsmith, CC0, via rawpixel. The picture shows the field, not the companies named.

What the filing covers

Design Therapeutics, Inc. filed a Form S-3 shelf registration statement on May 7, 2025. The base prospectus covers up to $300,000,000 of common stock, preferred stock, debt securities and warrants, to be offered from time to time. The filing is a preliminary prospectus subject to completion, and the Securities and Exchange Commission must declare it effective before any sale. A separate sales agreement prospectus covers up to $100,000,000 of common stock sold through an Open Market Sale Agreement with Jefferies LLC. Jefferies acts as sales agent on a commercially reasonable efforts basis. The filing says no funds will be held in escrow, trust or a similar arrangement. The $100,000,000 is part of the $300,000,000, so the at-the-market program does not add to the total. Any part left unsold when the agreement ends can be sold in other offerings under the base prospectus. Jefferies will be paid a fixed commission rate of up to 3.0% of the gross sales price per share sold. The filing says Jefferies will be deemed an underwriter under the Securities Act, and that the company has agreed to indemnify it against certain civil liabilities. The filing does not give a date for the sales agreement.

Counsel and the company's description

Cooley LLP of San Diego passed on the validity of the common stock offered. The filing says Latham & Watkins LLP is counsel for Jefferies in connection with the offering. Ernst & Young LLP audited the financial statements in the company's 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2024, which are incorporated by reference. The company calls itself a clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company developing GeneTAC molecules, a novel class of small-molecule gene targeted chimera therapeutic candidates. It says they are designed to address the underlying cause of diseases caused by inherited nucleotide repeat expansion mutations. The diseases it names include Friedreich ataxia, fragile X syndrome, myotonic dystrophy type-1, Fuchs endothelial corneal dystrophy and Huntington's disease. The company was incorporated in Delaware on December 18, 2017 and has offices in Carlsbad, California. It says it is an emerging growth company and a smaller reporting company, and so faces reduced public company reporting requirements.

What the annual report flags

The S-3 does not state a cash balance, a net loss or an accumulated deficit. It incorporates earlier SEC filings by reference, so those figures sit in the annual report and later quarterly reports. The annual report's forward-looking statements bear directly on the lead program. They list the company's expectations for resuming clinical development of its Friedreich ataxia program, and they list whether the side effect profile seen in nonclinical testing of DT-216P2 will be indicative of what clinical trials show. They also list whether DT-216P2 can prevent injection site thrombophlebitis or other limiting side effects. The filing does not say when the Friedreich ataxia program will resume. Its risk summary calls an investment in the shares a high degree of risk. The S-3 adds that management will have broad discretion over the use of proceeds and may not use them effectively. The company has not designated an amount of net proceeds for any particular purpose and intends to use them for general corporate purposes, including research and development and clinical trial expenses.

What comes next

Any sales under the sales agreement would be made through Jefferies at prevailing market prices. The company says the terms of any other securities will be given in a prospectus supplement, and it will incorporate by reference the certificate of designation for any preferred stock before that stock is issued. The filing does not say how much of the $100,000,000 the company plans to sell.

Report an error

Companies in this story

Full desks

Every other company has a starter desk. Search above to open one.

Settings

Appearance
Text size
Motion

Stops the news strip and the share rollers.

Your choices are saved in this browser only.

Free membership

Read aibio.space in full, free

Subscribe with your email address to read every story, company desk and profile in full. It costs nothing. In return, you agree that we may email you, including offers. One click to unsubscribe.

No card, no password. With email, we send one message to confirm your address first. With Google or Facebook we receive only your email address. Not investment advice.