Cellectar Biosciences agrees to warrant inducement deal for about $2.5 million gross proceeds
Tickers CLRB
Holders of warrants for 8,301,322 shares agreed to exercise at a reduced price of $0.3041 per share. Ladenburg Thalmann & Co. Inc. is placement agent, and closing is expected on or about June 6, 2025.
Key facts
- Company
- Cellectar Biosciences, Inc. (NASDAQ: CLRB)
- News type
- Financings
- Primary source
- Cellectar Biosciences, Inc. Form 8-K filed June 5, 2025 (SEC EDGAR)

Cellectar Biosciences, Inc. (Nasdaq: CLRB) agreed on June 5, 2025 to a warrant inducement deal that the company says will bring in about $2.5 million in gross proceeds. Holders of existing warrants were offered a lower exercise price in return for exercising immediately. The terms are set out in a Form 8-K filed June 5, 2025 under Item 1.01. Chad J. Kolean, its chief financial officer, signed the filing.
The warrants and the price
Cellectar entered into warrant exercise inducement offer letters with holders of outstanding warrants to buy 8,301,322 shares of common stock. The warrants were issued on June 5, 2020, October 25, 2022 and July 21, 2024. The reduced exercise price is $0.3041 per share.
In a warrant inducement, the company lowers the exercise price on warrants investors already hold, and they pay that lower price in cash to exercise right away. The company receives the cash and issues the shares. The 8-K says the closing is expected on or about June 6, 2025, subject to customary conditions.
The shares underlying the warrants were registered on a Form S-1 filed May 8, 2020, or on later resale registration statements, according to the 8-K. Because of that, the 8-K says the new shares are covered by existing registrations rather than a fresh filing. Cellectar's press release says the deal is priced at market under Nasdaq rules.
The placement agent and the proceeds
Ladenburg Thalmann & Co. Inc. is the exclusive placement agent for the offering. The inducement letter lets Ladenburg direct settlement of the warrant shares, and the press release says the gross proceeds are expected to be about $2.5 million before placement agent fees and offering expenses. The 8-K does not state the fee Ladenburg will receive. The filing names no law firm for either side.
The company says it did not issue any replacement warrants. Holders receive shares when they exercise and nothing new in exchange, which means the company's future dilution from these warrants ends at this exercise. Cellectar says it intends to use the net proceeds for general corporate purposes, including working capital and operating expenses.
The company
The annual report for 2024, filed March 13, 2025, describes Cellectar as a late-stage clinical biopharmaceutical company developing cancer drugs. Its core platform is a phospholipid ether drug conjugate, and its focus is radioconjugates designed to deliver a radioisotope to cancer cells while limiting exposure to healthy cells. The report says the company plans to develop these products both alone and through collaborations.
The 8-K does not give the company's cash balance, its burn rate or its net loss, and the press release does not state them either. Those figures would show how long $2.5 million gross, less fees, can carry operations.
What the deal shows
The filings do not explain why the company chose this route, and they do not describe any further financing plans.
The warrants were issued in three separate rounds over four years, and the holders agreed to exercise all of them at once for a single modest sum. The deal therefore brings in $2.5 million, but it removes the warrant overhang rather than adding a new one. Whether the company can meet its next funding need with the money it raises here is not addressed in the filings.
aibio