Arbutus Biopharma starts tender offer for up to US$230 million of its shares
Tickers ABUS
Arbutus filed a Schedule TO on August 24, 2026 to start an issuer tender offer for up to US$230 million of its common shares, paid in cash. The filing points to an Offer to Purchase dated the same day, and it does not state the start or expiry dates in its own text.
Key facts
- Company
- Arbutus Biopharma Corporation (NASDAQ: ABUS)
- News type
- Financings
- Primary source
- Arbutus Biopharma Corporation SC TO-I (2026-08-24)

What the filing says
Arbutus Biopharma Corporation (Nasdaq: ABUS) filed a Tender Offer Statement on Schedule TO with the Securities and Exchange Commission on August 24, 2026. The box for an issuer tender offer under Rule 13e-4 is checked, so the company is both the issuer of the shares and the party making the offer. Arbutus is organized under the laws of the province of British Columbia.
The offer is to buy for cash up to US$230 million in value of the company's common shares, without par value. The terms are in an Offer to Purchase dated August 24, 2026, an accompanying issuer bid circular and a Letter of Transmittal. The Schedule TO itself is mostly a set of cross-references to those documents. It points to sections on proration, the procedure for depositing shares, withdrawal rights, conditions of the offer, extension of the offer and payment for deposited shares. The Schedule does not state the purchase price. It incorporates Section 2, "Purchase Price," of the Offer to Purchase by reference.
The filing lists 198,105,743 common shares issued and outstanding as of August 19, 2026. Because the offer is capped in value rather than in shares, the number of shares bought depends on the price the holders accept.
Who is named
The filing names Tuan Nguyen, Chief Financial Officer, as the person authorized to receive notices for the company. The company's principal executive offices are at 701 Veterans Circle, Warminster, Pennsylvania 18974. The Schedule lists copies to Hogan Lovells Cadwalader US LLP in Philadelphia and to Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP in New York, and it names Steven J. Abrams and Stephen M. Nicolai of Hogan Lovells Cadwalader and Marisa D. Stavenas and John O'Connell of Simpson Thacher.
The Schedule incorporates by reference a dealer manager section of the issuer bid circular, along with sections on the depositary and information agent and on fees and expenses. The Schedule does not name the dealer manager, depositary or information agent. It points to Sections 17, 18 and 19 of the issuer bid circular for them and for fees and expenses. The exhibit list includes a Letter of Transmittal, a Notice of Guaranteed Delivery and employee frequently asked questions dated August 24, 2026. It also incorporates the company's August 21, 2026 press release announcing the planned modified Dutch auction, and lists a commencement press release dated August 24, 2026 and a Material Change Report of the same date. The Schedule is signed by Lindsay Androski, President and Chief Executive Officer.
Cash and the offer
The Schedule says the consideration is cash only, and that Arbutus will fund any purchase, including fees and expenses, from available cash on hand. It does not describe any borrowing. The Schedule does not say where the cash on hand came from.
The company's annual report on Form 10-K, filed March 23, 2026, reports total cash, cash equivalents and marketable securities of $91.5 million at December 31, 2025, and no outstanding debt. The offer's ceiling of US$230 million is larger than that year-end figure. XBRL figures show cash and cash equivalents of $19.2 million at June 30, 2026, with short-term investments of $73.5 million on the same date.
The same annual report shows a net loss of $33.5 million for 2025, compared with $69.9 million in 2024. Cash used in operations was $39.6 million in 2025 and $64.8 million in 2024. Revenue was $14.1 million in 2025 and $6.2 million in 2024. Research and development expense fell to $25.2 million from $54.0 million, after the company stopped discovery work, halted preparations for a potential IM-PROVE III clinical trial and cut its workforce.
The business behind the cash
The 10-K says Arbutus is advancing imdusiran and AB-101. The company calls its November 2024 IM-PROVE I data with imdusiran positive. It also records a contingent obligation to former Enantigen shareholders of up to $102.5 million in sales performance milestones tied to a first commercialized hepatitis B product, plus a royalty capped at $1.0 million.
The offer would return cash to shareholders while the company still reports losses. The filing does not say what the company would keep for operations after the offer closes.
aibio